Skip to main content English


Diese Seite ist nur in englischer Sprache verfügbar!

The scientific landscape of the Department of Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery is structured in 13 research clusters, that cover the major research areas related to orthopedics and traumatology. This thematic structure aims to sharpen the Department’s research focus, foster exchange across the clinical divisions within the Department as well as between clinical and basic research scientists, and provide a scientific hub, particularly for junior researchers. As such, the scientific clusters welcome all staff members of the Department and invite external collaborators to explore the clinical and basic research on cluster-related topics in a joint effort.

Each research cluster is headed by a coordinator or coordinating team responsible for organizing regular scientific meetings for its members, the guidance of junior researchers and communication and documentation of ongoing research within the Department. Along with the coordinator, the cluster’s principal investigators report internally and externally on the scientific activities and can be directly addressed for collaborations.

Detailed information on each research cluster – including its research focus, points of contact, principal investigators, and selected publications – is accessible via the drop-down menu at the right side of this page.